Teen Arotake

Home » Posts tagged 'death'

Tag Archives: death

Our Chemical Hearts – Krystal Sutherland


This is a roller coaster ride of a book, lots of raw emotion  This is a teen read that is real, there are so many references to some of the latest apps and current trends, and it was really nice to see an author use and embrace these things, rather than attempt to create a whole new world for the characters. Henry and Grace are very emotional characters and even though Grace seems to be broken beyond repair, everyone who has hope can be put back together again.

A romantic, sad book that is well worth reading

 

26836966

Minus Me – Ingelin Rossland


This is an easy read about a girl who discovers she has a heart condition which will soon end her life.

She has a wonderful best friend and they had previously made a list of all the things they wanted to do as a 13 year olds.  Linda goes to that list and starts to work her way through it.  There is also strange boy named Zak who keeps appearing to her and assisting her with getting things done before she exits the world.

 

download (16)

I Let You Go – By Clare MacKintosh


I Let you Go is the powerful debut novel from Clare Mackintosh, a former police officer turned freelance writer.
The story is told from multiple viewpoints after a tragic accident results in the death of a young child. Jenna Gray’s world has fallen apart and she moves to an isolated cottage on the Welsh coast hoping to rebuild her life. I loved the way Mackintosh decided to join together two different types of crime writing in this novel as well as detailing the psychological impact of the crash on Jenna, Mackintosh also gives us the police procedural element as she follows the investigation carried out by DI Ray Stephens and DC Kate Evans and a glimpse into Ray’s home life. This makes the mystery all the more intriguing as despite giving the reader various pieces of the puzzle she doesn’t reveal everything. The writing is excellent and there is a killer twist which I promise you won’t see coming.
The story was inspired by a real life hit and run accident that Mackintosh was involved in investigating shortly after she joined the police force. This book is a engrossing, thrilling and at times almost heart stopping perfect for fans of Paula Daly, Sophie Hannah and Claire McGowan.

i let

Let’s get lost – Adi Alsaid


This is a wonderful book about friendship, love, living for the moment and a road trip of discovery.  Hudson, Bree, Elliot and Sonia find a friend in Leila.  When Leila leaves them, their lives are forever changed. But it is during Leila’s 4,268-mile journey that she discovers the most important truth— sometimes, what you need most is right where you started. And maybe the only way to find what you’re looking for is to get lost along the way

An excellent pick for a summer read18812437

The Shock of the Fall – Nathan Filer


The synopsis says

I’ll tell you what happened because it will be a good way to introduce my brother. His name’s Simon. I think you’re going to like him. I really do. But in a couple of pages he’ll be dead. And he was never the same after that.

This book is about a tragedy and how it  completely changed a siblings whole life

It is a images (2)sad story told in a blunt way, dark, touching, funny at times, well worth a read.

Life after Theft – Aprilyne Pike


This story is a light fun read. Kimberlee is funny, sad and overall dead, and Jeff is the first person to see and talk to her. She wants to move on and he wants to fit in.

Jeff wants to help Kimberlee to move on so he can stop thinking he is crazy. When he decides to help her return things she stole, which is kind of sterotyped, rich girl has everything she wants, steals, wants her parents attention and of course everyone really didn’t like her like she thought. There are some hard lessons in this book, and some truths about being a rich popular high school girl who unknowingly and sometimes knowingly makes other people’s lives hell. Kimberlee is accepting these things and is scared but ready to move on to see what awaits her on the other side.

The great thing about this book is that it is written from a boys point of view, which is so rare.

All in all an easy read, sending a message to teens that your actions can sometimes come back to haunt you.