Teen Arotake

Home » Posts tagged 'hope'

Tag Archives: hope

Our Chemical Hearts – Krystal Sutherland


This is a roller coaster ride of a book, lots of raw emotion  This is a teen read that is real, there are so many references to some of the latest apps and current trends, and it was really nice to see an author use and embrace these things, rather than attempt to create a whole new world for the characters. Henry and Grace are very emotional characters and even though Grace seems to be broken beyond repair, everyone who has hope can be put back together again.

A romantic, sad book that is well worth reading

 

26836966

I Let You Go – By Clare MacKintosh


I Let you Go is the powerful debut novel from Clare Mackintosh, a former police officer turned freelance writer.
The story is told from multiple viewpoints after a tragic accident results in the death of a young child. Jenna Gray’s world has fallen apart and she moves to an isolated cottage on the Welsh coast hoping to rebuild her life. I loved the way Mackintosh decided to join together two different types of crime writing in this novel as well as detailing the psychological impact of the crash on Jenna, Mackintosh also gives us the police procedural element as she follows the investigation carried out by DI Ray Stephens and DC Kate Evans and a glimpse into Ray’s home life. This makes the mystery all the more intriguing as despite giving the reader various pieces of the puzzle she doesn’t reveal everything. The writing is excellent and there is a killer twist which I promise you won’t see coming.
The story was inspired by a real life hit and run accident that Mackintosh was involved in investigating shortly after she joined the police force. This book is a engrossing, thrilling and at times almost heart stopping perfect for fans of Paula Daly, Sophie Hannah and Claire McGowan.

i let